Schools in Freeport (RSU#5)

Public schools in Freeport are administered by Regional School Unit (RSU) #5, which is an independent regional government, separate from the Town government. In addition to Freeport, the neighboring towns of Durham and Pownal are also members of RSU#5. 

An elected Board of Directors is responsible for the general oversight of the school unit. RSU#5 bills the Town annually for Freeport's local share of the costs to operate the school unit, and these costs are reflected in the local property tax rate which is set by the Town on an annual basis.